Each of the six buildings that make up The Inn has its own history and unique features.
Located in the East Ferry Street Historic District of Midtown Detroit, The Inn on Ferry Street sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Just steps from the state’s finest museums, acclaimed Detroit Medical Center and Wayne State University, the Inn is a relaxing change of pace from the standard business hotel. Consisting of four restored Victorian homes, and two carriage houses the Inn abounds in sophisticated luxury. The Inn On Ferry Street has beautifully maintained landscaping and stunning public spaces. Whether you visit for a weekend, conduct a business meeting, or rent an entire house for a special occasion, The Inn on Ferry Street is aptly accommodating.
Built in 1891, the Pungs House was originally the home of William Pungs, Vice President of the Michigan Railroad Supply Company and founder of the Anderson Carriage Company. This historic structure has been lovingly restored with a hint of Victorian charm. Each of the nine guest rooms is uniquely decorated. The accommodations range from a fanciful yellow and blue room with white painted furniture, to a soothing suite with sage colored walls, cherry sleigh bed, non-working fireplace and a quiet work space. Guests will lose themselves in the large Victorian sofa found in the home’s original parlor, which boasts inlaid hardwood floors and two fireplaces.
The Roehm House, constructed in 1888, was the home of Herman Roehm, President of the Detroit Carriage Company. Both the old and the new have inspired the colors, furnishings and details of this home. Behind each door of the eleven guestrooms is a surprise, from the oversized bath with the original cast iron tub to the historic casement windows overlooking our garden and terrace. The popular second floor suite offers the ultimate in luxury with rich terra cotta colored walls, a private balcony, soaking tub, and Asian influenced decor. Guests can curl up on the tufted leather sofa with a book from the Roehm’s House library or pick a compact disc from the large collection of music to enjoy in their room.
The Scott House is the first stop for guests registering at The Inn. John Scott, one of Detroit’s prominent architects best known for his design of the historic Wayne County Building, built the home in 1886 as his residence. The attention to detail and richness of materials in our main house are reminiscent of an earlier, less chaotic time. The parlor beckons guests to sit by the fire and enjoy a cup of coffee at any time of the day. The high wainscoting and beautifully carved fireplace emphasize the adjacent breakfast room. The three guestrooms upstairs have been decorated with furniture, fabrics and colors influenced by the Arts and Crafts style. The beautiful woods and rich, soft colors make this home a favorite.
Built in 1887, for George A. Owen owner of a dry goods firm, the Owen House is evocative of a glamorous era. The wide, impressive staircase with elaborately turned balusters and newel posts will dazzle the most reserved guest. Ideal for small events, the inviting parlor features a baby grand piano and two fireplaces. This house has nine luxurious guestrooms, two of which are large executive suites with a sleeper sofa for extra guests. Guestrooms are decorated with either bold, jewel tone colors and Victorian style furnishings or soft blue and peach colors with delicately patterned silk and chenille fabrics.
John R. Carriage House
Originally built in 1892 as a carriage house for the occupant of the home at 110 E. Ferry, the building was converted to a single-family home in 1926. Today, the carriage house has seven of the Inn’s guestrooms. All rooms have a casual feel reflected in the Arts and Crafts style furniture and warm colors. Gather with a group of guests in the cozy parlor for a game of chess or the challenge of completing a puzzle.
Raymond C. Smith Carriage House
The carriage house behind the Pungs House was constructed in 1892. In 2001 the Raymond C. Smith Fund generously contributed to the restoration of the building and terrace. The first floor can be used for business meetings, corporate retreats, or small group functions. Upstairs features a two bedroom suite with sitting room and bath. The whimsical feel of this hidden-away suite offers the ultimate in privacy.